Tags

, ,

Ok so, although I’m a nurse and I live in the more modern Western society, I don’t really like taking medicine.  Weird, I know. I’d rather just suffer through the pain or let the ailment run its natural course than grab a bottle of medicine.  The only exception would be monthly cycle pain and birth control (I’m probably the biggest birth control advocate around).  So I decided to do some research for those of you lovely ladies who prefer more natural methods of treating common medical problems.  Here’s what I dug up:

  • Melatonin is an awesome sleep aid. I recently discovered this herb at my new job.  I often have trouble falling asleep in a timely manner, so I quickly decided to try it. It really does work.  It comes over the counter in 3mg and 5mg.  Common doses that usually work or either 3mg or 6mg.  I took 10mg just to make sure I would fall asleep, but I suggest that you start at a low dose then take more if needed.
  • Garlic helps to lower blood pressure for a short period of time.  If you have hypertension (high blood pressure), I suggest you make lifestyle changes such as eating a healthy, low sodium diet and exercising, and consulting your local health care provider.
  • Milk Thistle promotes a healthy liver. It’s also good for type 2 or noninsulin dependent diabetics for lowering blood sugar.  Again, a healthier diet and exercise regimen will help rectify the problem for type 2 diabetics.
  • Turmeric helps fight inflammation.
  • To prevent migraines, take some butterbur and feverfew.
  • Saint-John’s wort is about as effective for combating mild or molderate depression as many antidepressants.
  • A little horse-chestnut seed helps to get rid of those unsightly varicose veins.

This isnt an all inclusive list, but these particular are scientifically proven to have great medical benefits.  An added bonus:  herbs are often a lot cheaper than prescription drugs.

Warning: Not all herbs and prescriptions are compatible.  For example, taking St-John’s wort while on birth control pills can increase your risk of unwanted pregnancies.  So save yourself the headache and worry, and discuss your concerns and plans with a doctor before taking anything.

 

Remember, to have a healthy demeanor both inside and out. 🙂

