Tags

,

One of the most important things we can do in life is volunteer our time and money to a special cause, or even a special person.  No matter who, what, or where we are in life, there is no denying the fact that God, Jesus, Allah, Yahweh, or whoever you worship has blessed you probably more than you deserve…at least that’s the case with me.  I remind myself everyday that I am highly favored by God and that there are people in my community who are less fortunate than myself.  It is because of this fact, I choose to dedicate my time and money to better my community and raise money to help make advances in the medical field.  Giving back to my community makes me feel good, and as it turns out, volunteering is actually good for you both mentally and physically.

Over 30 studies conducted revealed that individuals who volunteered a minimum of 100 hours a year had more longevity, were able to function at higher levels, experienced lower rates of depression, and decreased their risks of heart disease.  To reap the benefits of volunteering, you only need to volunteer 2 hours a week.  Of course, if you just can’t find the time to volunteer, a monetary donation would be greatly appreciated. 🙂

As humans, we are predisposed to needing to feel a connection with another person.  We need to work together.  When you need motivation to get out and help someone, keep in mind that volunteering feels good and those who feel good end up volunteering more.  Do see the pattern?  It’s a wonderful cycle.

So head out alone or make it a group outing with your kids, co-workers, friends, anyone really and be a blessing to someone.  To get you started, here are some worthy causes that I myself am involved with:

Habitat for Humanity, March of Dimes, American Red Cross, Homeless Shelters, Boys and Girls Clubs of America, and many more.  To find a cause that suits your fancy in your area, go to allforgood.com.

Shout out to Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. and Chi Eta Phi Sorority for all the community service we participate in throughout the community.

Remember, keep a healthy demeanor, both inside and out.

