Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I got my braces removed last month and I’ve never been more excited about my teeth.  I’m so glad that I no longer have to be self-conscious about my smile or people noticing that my bottom teeth were crooked.  Since I was able to begin the new year with a new smile, I’ve decided to perfect my teeth by having them whitened in the near future.  To really get my money’s worth (either through professional whitening or a home bleaching system), it’s important that I protect my teeth from re-staining.  If you’re looking to have a brighter smile in 2012, follow the following tips.

  • Drink dark beverages, such as cola, tea, and coffee, through a straw.
  • Drink water in between bites of food and dark-colored beverages to wash away  residue and prevent enamel staining.
  • Eat foods with a high oxygen radical absorbance capacity rating (ORAC) by the USDA, which include walnuts, apples, and oregano.  These foods are packed with antioxidants and will rinse away bacteria and inhibit staining.
  • Snack on crunchy fruits and vegetables like carrots, apples, and celery.  They stimulate saliva production, which prevents plaque buildup.

Keep in mind, prevention is key.  It’s always easier and more cost-efficient to prevent yellow/brown teeth than to have them whitened.

Remember divas, keep a healthy demeanor, both inside and out.

