With Valentines Day behind us and Spring Break 2012 just around the corner, I decided to remind you divas about the plenty of contraception options available to you.

When choosing an appropriate option, you should be honest with yourself.  Some of the questions you need to ask yourself are:

  • Do I want to get pregnant?
  • I do want to become a parent, but how soon do I want to make that happen?
  • Am I reliable and responsibile enough to remember to take a pill everyday or change a patch/nuvaring when they’re due to be changed?
  • Am I in charge of my body, or am I leaving my future in the hands of a random hook up or boyfriend?

Please take a peek at the birth control chart I’ve attached below.  It is my belief that IUDs (Mirena and Paragard) are the future of contraception.  They are as effective, if not more effective, than getting your tubes tied or having your partner get a vasectomy.  And as an added bonus, you don’t have to worry about it daily because it’s effective for at least 5 years after it’s inserted.  The Depo-shot is a good alternative in spite of the weight gain rumors floating around.

Take a few moments to have an honest and open discussion with yourself and your partner(s), then head to a healthcare provider for a birth control plan tailored specifically for your needs.  DON’T FORGET TO USE CONDOMS AS A SECOND CONTRACEPTIVE METHOD.  NO MATTER HOW EFFECTIVE A METHOD MAY BE AT STOPPING PREGNANCY, THEY DON’T PREVENT STDs!!!

No one wants to come back from spring break with a baby and/or a disease.  No bueno.

Remember, ladies, keep a healthy demeanor both inside and out.

